Student Achievements

Student Awards

The Evans/Marshall Prize in Chemistry

Established in 1959 by Chemistry alumnae of the classes of 1929 through 1959 in honor of Professor Mildred Evans, teacher of Chemistry from 1929 to 1962, and Professor Maud Marshall, teacher of Chemistry from 1934 to 1973, and is awarded to a junior or senior Chemistry major of singular promise who has shown imagination, independence, and initiative in their work.

  • 2023: Cassie Slaney and Laura Molesworth
  • 2022: Drew Doulette
  • 2021: Matthew Goodwin
  • 2020: Anna Healey and Elizabeth Pugliese

Elita Pastra-Landis Prize in Biochemistry

Created upon the retirement of Professor Elita Pastra-Landis after 44 years of teaching, this prize is awarded to a chemistry or biochemistry major who has performed outstanding work in their field.

  • 2023: Madeline Eller and Jeanne Specht
  • 2022: Kellia Karambizi
  • 2021: Eva Pet
  • 2020: Carina Sclafani

Jennings Family Prize in the Physical Sciences

Established in 2014 by Professor Emeritus Bojan Jennings, this prize is awarded to an academically stellar student majoring in chemistry, biochemistry, physics or biology at the end of the junior year. Professor Jennings hoped that this prize would encourage talented students to continue in the sciences.

  • 2023: Tim Curran and Erika Plante
  • 2022: Jeanne Specht and Laura Molesworth
  • 2021: Ishaan Madan
  • 2020: Chelsea Schroeder

Honors Theses

Class of 2023

  • Cassie Slaney – Chemistry (Kotyk)
  • Madeline Eller – Biochemistry (Gaudet)

Class of 2022

  • Ishaan Madan – Biochemistry (Buthelezi, Kalberg)
    Vapor Pressure Measurements of Pentane at Low Temperatures (-160 ºC to -50 ºC) using Cost-Effective Equipment
  • Jillian Riveros – Biochemistry (Kalberg)
    Studies toward a greener chemical synthesis for l-arginine
  • Dominic Sclafani – Chemistry (Kotyk)
    Synthesis and structural analysis of lanthanide perfluoropinacolates
  • John Proctor – Chemistry (Kotyk)
    Counterion Effect on the Luminescence of Lanthanide Complexes with Fluorinated Alkoxide Ligands
  • Kevin Fischer – Environmental Science (Benoit)
    A comparison of mercury contamination in invertebrates associated with a stormwater catch basin and a vernal pool
  • Sarah Calkins – Biochemistry (Buthelezi)
    Tea Waste as a Green Method in Removing Aluminum from Drinking Water
  • Kellia Karambizi – Biochemistry (Buthelezi)
    Removal of Iron (II) ions from wastewater using Black, Green and White Tea waste

Class of 2021

  • Matt Goodwin – Chemistry (Kotyk)
    Mechanochemical Synthesis of Thiolactams with Lawesson’s Reagent
  • Kim Lannery – Biochemistry (Gaudet)
    The Risk of SARS-CoV-2 Reinfection and the Limits of Inherent Immunity
  • Nick Kelly – Biochemistry (Gaudet)
    The Relationship Between ACE2 and the ABO Blood Groups in SARS-CoV-2 Infection Rates

Class of 2020

  • Ian Kobelenz – Chemistry (Kotyk)
    Synthesis and Reduction Potentials of Lanthanide Fluoroalkoxides
  • Elizabeth Pugliese – Chemistry (Kotyk)
    Synthesis and Luminescence of Lanthanide Complexes with Fluorinated Alkoxide Ligands
  • Anna Healy – Chemistry (Kalberg)
    Enantioselective synthesis of beta-amino acids for inclusion into natural products
  • Carina Sclafani – Biochemistry (Gaudet)
  • The role of septin-2 in the progression of epithelial ovarian cancer
  • Sophie Nerone – Chemistry (Buthelezi)
    Detection and Quantification of Tetracycline using Energy-Efficient Synthesized Carbon Dots